Skinny Bitch – aka The Worst Book Ever

I was recently given a copy of the book Skinny Bitch to read. I was told that this was THE book to read if I needed any kind of incentive to continue with vegetarianism.

This is quite possibly the most horrid book I have ever read, and I didn’t even read it. I started to flip through it, and while they call you names (fat, asshole, unhealthy) that wasn’t nearly as bad as the ‘You Are What you Eat’ chapter. That was where they started talking about slaughterhouses, and basically pure animal abuse. It’s only a few pages, but it’s a disturbing few pages. It made me question if it was embellished or written for shock value. Either way, I was not impressed. Had I been in an episode of Friends, this book would have definitely ended up in the freezer alongside Little Women.

Needless to say, I gave the book back and just explained that I couldn’t read it. I got the assurance that ‘No, no, that’s the worst part. The rest of it is okay’ but really. How much worse can it get?

I think that books like that, the ones that take it to the extreme, they do more damage than good. I’ve read a few books on why vegetarianism is good for you. Some get into the whole animal thing, others focus on the nutritional benefits. Either way, I think that a gentle approach is a bit more reader-friendly than ramming the information down the reader’s throat, all the while swearing at them and calling them names.

One of the best books I have read is Alicia Silverstone’s ‘The Kind Diet’. It brings to light some information about the animals, the processing of them, thier diet, but it is done in a way that won’t leave you sobbing into your pillow for a week after reading it. Her book is like talking to a friend, who just happens to be very well educated in the subject of vegan diets. Also it has really pretty pictures and really tasty recipes. I read this for a bit after giving back the other one. It does have the ‘hey this is what happens to animals’ but it’s nowhere near as upsetting. She acknowledges that yes, those stories can be hard to read. Yes, it’s unpleasant, but by choosing to change your lifestyle and diet, even if it’s not every day, you won’t be supporting places that cause that kind of harm. Its a very caring book. It’s purpose is to educate you, not upset you. It’s less scary, less intimidating, and the best part, it doesn’t insult you. It doesn’t demand anything of you, it doesn’t tell you that you are a crappy person if you have steak or chicken. It offers information and a challenge. It asks to you just be open to trying a new diet. It has a whole section on what she refers to as ‘Flirting’ where you are open to these new ways of eating. That’s where I started, and after the first 2 weeks when I realized that my skin looked better, that I felt amazing and that I had more energy, it encouraged me to continue.

I lent The Kind Diet to a friend, who gave it back after having it for 2 days, saying that she hadn’t finished it but she wanted to go get her own copy to highlight, dog ear, and try the recipes.

It’s just that kind of book.

Leave a comment