Living La Vegan Loca

Sarah Kramer is my idol. When I grow up I want to be like her. Not in a creepy way though.
The first time I went into her store it was just a tiny little store off Market Square in Victoria. It has since grown in size and has moved to a bigger location in Market Square. Anyhow, the first time I went in I had expected to go in, get the lipbalm I had read about on her Facebook page (pineapple candycane) and head out. I hadn’t counted on her actually being there. I mean, she’s far too busy writing cookbooks and such to run the store, right? Nope. There she was.
I was somewhat starstruck. I mean, it’s not everyday you get to meet a local celebrity. What do you say??
‘I love your books. I have La Dolce Vegan and use it all the time.’ She thanked me and said that was one of her favourites too because the recipies were so incredibly easy. While I was shmoozing my way through the store I began flipping through her other books she had on display (all of which she will sign for you at the time of purchase) and I realized that all of them are like that. The recipies are easy to follow and more importantly, call for normal ingredients. I instantly wanted to buy them all, but sadly my budget wouldn’t allow for it.
I picked up my lip balm and ended up splurging on a fun pair of cat eye shaped sunglasses too.
The thing that made my purchases special was Sarah herself. She is such a kind and compassionate person. I truly felt special to be in her store. She’s so easy to talk to, extremely passionate about being vegan and valuing the lives of animals, she’s just so…..real. I get so excited when I am planning a trip to Victoria. A stop at Sarah’s Place is a must. Even my meat eating husband thinks it’s quite a cool shop.
If you haven’t been there I highly reccomend it. If you can’t make it in person, check out her online store and blog.
http://www.blog.govegan.net/

Leave a comment