Vegetarian and Pregnant

I am just coming up to the second trimester of my pregnancy. This is when (according to my doctor) I will begin to feel more energetic and far less barfy. I hope this is true because for the last 3 months I’ve done nothing but feel sick, and want to sleep.
The first month after learning I was expecting, I decided I was going to prepare a bunch of food to keep in the fridge for lunches and dinners. Pleased at how organized (and grown up!) I felt, I wrote out my meal plans.
My first project was a quiche. I love quiche! Unfortunately, after having the first slice of it I couldn’t eat anymore. I think it was the texture.
My second project was vegetarian hamburger soup. I fared a little better with this, but after about 4 days my tummy revolted against this as well.
I tried quesadillas, but those were also on the list of things not to be had.
By far the worst was when I tried to do a salad plate for dinner. I bought potato salad, coleslaw, pasta salad and greek salad from a local deli. I cut up some cheese and put out some pickles. I rolled up some ham slices for my meat eating husband. I even made devilled eggs! Dinner time came and I pulled everything out and had a small salad plate, and couldn’t eat a thing. I tried a bite of egg and dramatically passed it to my husband, saying ‘I just can’t do it….’
Up until now I have been surviving on Quaker Crispy Minis, toast, a few raw veggies and dip, one apple a day, and whatever I can eat for dinner.
I really hope the next few weeks bring an end to the nausea. I love food far too much to do this for the next 6 months!

Leave a comment